Nature’s Inspiration 2020: Music brought us together

Held virtually, our 17th annual celebration was different this year. This did not stop our community from having a great time and many attendees shared that Nature’s Inspiration was the best online event they have ever attended.

Music was key to the event’s magic. With musical performances from Grammy award-winning Raul Pacheco and Ozomatli, Rock & Roll Hall of Famer Neil Young, rising star Calina Lawrence of the Suquamish Nation, and Freddy Clarke, the diverse mixture of rock, soul, hip hop, and flamenco guitar kept the lively energy going throughout the evening.

It was a privilege to honor Valentin Lopez for his leadership as the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman. Solidarity was the anthem of the event and this was emphasized by the program which included a land acknowledgement from Chairwoman Charlene Nijmeh and opening prayer by Vice Chairwoman Monica Arellano, both of the Muwekma Ohlone Tribe of the San Francisco Bay Area.

We celebrated the importance of protecting sacred lands, specifically Juristac in Santa Clara County. It was humbling to hear from Chairman Lopez,

“All Mutsun are inspired to take care of Mother Earth so we can honor our ancestors and fulfill our sacred obligation to Mother Earth and to Creator. We are extremely thankful to Green Foothills and together we form a strong team for the protection of both cultural and natural resources.”

Most importantly, we are incredibly thankful for the support we received from the Green Foothills community. Nature’s Inspiration is an extremely important fundraiser for our organization and supports 25% of our operating budget. The event exceeded our fundraising goals, raising over $300,000 in gross proceeds. From sponsorships, ticket purchases, and auction bids, the Green Foothills community stepped up to help us achieve our goal and to show that our work protecting local nature is extremely valuable to our region.

As part of our continuing journey to be good allies with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, together we raised over $22,000 for their non-profit organization the Amah Mutsun Land Trust (AMLT). AMLT promotes traditional cultural and spiritual indigenous stewardship of Amah Mutsun tribal territory through research, conservation, restoration, and education. AMLT plans to invest the funds from Nature’s Inspiration in programs dedicated to Amah Mutsun youth which include a youth stewardship summer camp, a Native Stewardship Corps summer internship program, and a year-round Native Stewardship Corps. These programs allow AMLT to restore the path of learning and interaction with nature that the Amah Mutsun have followed for millennia as well as intentionally develop the next generation of Amah Mutsun land stewards through youth engagement in indigenous stewardship and ecosystem restoration projects. The Youth Walk to Juristac event is just one Protect
Juristac campaign activity the funds helped support.

We couldn’t be happier with the support and success of Nature’s Inspiration 2020 that was made possible by our generous community. Now how do we top that next year? We started by inviting the Green Foothills community to submit nominations for our next Nature’s Inspiration honoree. Our Nature’s Inspiration Award Task Force will review all nominations and make the final selection. Our honoree will be announced in the early spring and we’re looking forward to another great event this fall.

Our heartfelt and sincere thanks to all the wonderful people whose generous sponsorships made the event possible!

Thank You to Our Sponsors!

O’Brien Family Charitable Fund
Facebook, Inc.
Law Offices Of Cotchett, Pitre & McCarthy

Ruth and Ben Hammett
Laura Wells
Jim Wickett and Magdalena Yesil

Ranae DeSantis
Peter and Sue LaTourrette
Dean Morton
Lisa and Edward Munro
Nancy and Greg Serrurier
Zanker Recycling

Barbara Bessey
Brandenburg Family Foundation
Franklin P. Johnson, Jr. & Catherine Johnson
Kaia Eakin & Bryan Beck
Martha Cohn
Peter & Beverly Lipman
Susan Rosenberg
Diane Talbert & Rodger Rickard
Maxine Terner & Keith Weber
Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District
Peninsula Open Space Trust
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati Foundation

Steve Abbors
Jessica Rose Agramonte & James Principato
Tamara Alvarado
The Alvarado Family
Sylvia Arenas, San Jose Councilmember
Marilyn & William Bauriedel
Steve Beck & Jane Baxter
Steve Betando
Stephen Boles
Craig Britton & Carleen Bruins
Matthew Burrows
Paul Davis & Jade Thuma
Maryann Moise Derwin, Portola Valley Mayor
Ralph Eschenback
Sarvenaz Fahimi
Mark & Lisa Fischer-Colbrie
Rob & Susan Flint
Larry & Penny Hassett
Jack & Rebecca Herman
Alice Kaufman & Scot Griffin
Linda & Sid Liebes
Margaret & Jamis MacNiven
Paul & Antje Newhagen
Nancy Reyering & Marty Walker
Katie Sanborn & Barbara Wright
Ricardo Samaniego
Jeff Segall & Helen He
Margo Sensenbrenner
Lubab Sheet & Jonathan Davis
Peter & Diane Siemens
Joe Simitian, County Supervisor & Mary Hughes
Lynn Stegner
Hartono Sutanto & Tom Myers
Carolyn Tognetti
Nancy & Bart Westcott
Ciddy Wordell
California Nativescapes, LLC
Shute, Mihaly, and Weinberger LLP
SRT Consultants
Valley Water
Anonymous x 2
Phil & Mary Bobel
Allan & Marilyn Brown
Phyllis M. Browning
Helen & Dan Chapman
Mike Danzenbaker and Lee Hung
Michelle Domocol
Edith & Jonathan Eddy
Linda & Jerome Elkind
Sandy Emerson
Ron Erskine
Megan Fluke
Anne & Steve Galli
Linda Gass & Rob Steiner
Herb & Norma Grench
Jerry Hearn & Rebecca Reynolds
Gary & Patricia Hedden
Senator Jerry Hill
Don Horsley, County Supervisor
Sudhanshu & Lori Jain
Sergio Jimenez, San Jose Councilmember
Arthur Keller
Larry Klein & Milbrey McLaughlin
Bill & Kathy Korbholz
David Loeb
Harold Luft
Andrea Mackenzie
Christopher Manning & Laura Salcido
Betsy Morgenthaler
Leslie & Hy Murveit
Jack & Virginia Nadeau
David Oppenheimer
Jane Packard
Mary & Ward Paine
Smita Patel
Raul Peralez, San Jose Councilmember
Daniel & Helen Quinn
Emily Renzel
Curt Riffle & Karen Scussel
Robert & Elisabeth Rix
Lennie & Mike Roberts
Adolph Rosekrans
Roberta Saxon
Janet & Victor Schachter
Kathryn Schmidt
Joan Sherlock
David Simon & Lynn Gordon
Sharon & Clinton Snyder
Jo-Ann & Rod Sockolov
Rene Spring, Morgan Hill Councilmember & Mark Hoffman
Carolyn Straub & Steve McHenry
Taube Family
Charlie Tomberg
Timothy Tosta
George E. Tucker & Zoe Kersteen-Tucker
Don Weden
René Welti, ECHO Rails & Trails Swiss Alps Guided Tours
Mariquita West
Will & Michelle Wyman
OCI Environmental Justice
Santa Clara Valley Open Space Authority

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


You are leaving the Green Foothills website to go to our Protect Coyote Valley website.

Continue on to PCV Website


You are leaving the Green Foothills website to go to our Protect Coyote Valley website.

Continue on to PCV Petition


You are leaving the Green Foothills website to go to the Protect Juristac website.

Continue on to Juristac Petition


You are leaving the Green Foothills website to go to our 2021 CALA Application.

Continue on to 2021 CALA Application