Green Future: Envisioning 2062


Green Foothills envisions a resilient region where wildlife thrives, everyone has natural beauty to enjoy, and communities live in balance with nature. Green Foothills will work with our partners and nurture an inclusive movement to achieve these four outcomes by our centennial. We invite you to sign on as a supporter of this vision.

Over the next 40 years, we envision:


Couple with toddler beside the bay

Communities become climate-resilient.

Growth is focused within existing developed areas, protecting open space and limiting development in areas at greater risk of natural hazards. Communities benefit from green infrastructure, tidal marsh and natural shoreline protection, urban green space, and restoration forestry. The region has achieved an equitable jobs-housing balance with sufficient affordable housing.

Couple pushing stroller in forest

Everyone has access to nature close to home.

Parks, trails, urban tree canopies, and native habitat are abundant. All communities have meaningful opportunities to connect with nature and be active stewards of the natural environment. Access in protected open lands is balanced with the needs of wildlife and agriculture.

Snowy plover with chick

Native wildlife and plant habitats are being restored. 

Open space is wisely managed and stewarded including Bay and coastal wetlands, serpentine grasslands, oak woodlands, redwood forests, and riparian corridors. Local Indigenous tribes and peoples are partners in restoring these landscapes using traditional and contemporary stewardship practices. Endangered and threatened species are recovering.

Person holding carrots at farmer's market

Farms, ranches, and agricultural lands strengthen communities. 

Regenerative urban and rural farms and community gardens produce a wide variety of healthy food and restore open spaces. This agricultural network provides ecological, economic, recreational, and educational benefits for all. Historically marginalized farmers have a pathway to farmland ownership.

Sign On to Green Future: Envisioning 2062

We invite community leaders, elected and appointed officials, and the Green Foothills community to support this vision. Supporters commit to keeping this vision in mind in their actions and decisions. This vision is possible if we work together. To join our growing list of Green Future: Envisioning 2062 supporters, fill out the form below.

I am supporting as(Required)

Supporters of Green Future: Envisioning 2062

Thank you to the growing list of agencies and individuals who support Green Future: Envisioning 2062. Titles are listed for identification purposes only.

ACLU Foundation of Northern California
Amah Mutsun Tribal Band
Ayudando Latinos A Soñar
Calpulli Tonalehqueh
Greenbelt Alliance
Guadalupe River Park Conservancy
League of Women Voters of San Jose/Santa Clara
Orchard City Indivisible
Peninsula Open Space Trust
San Francisco Baykeeper
San Mateo Resource Conservation District
Santa Clara Valley Open Space Authority
Save the Bay
Si Se Puede Collective
SOMOS Mayfair
Sustainable Agriculture Education (SAGE)
Town of Los Gatos
Zanker Recycling
Anna Eshoo, Representative, U.S. Congress
Marc Berman, State Assemblymember, Dist. 24
Dave Cortese, California State Senator, Dist. 15
Ash Kalra, State Assemblymember, Dist. 27
Alex Lee, State Assemblymember, Dist. 25
Charlene Nijmeh, Chairwoman, Muwekma Ohlone Tribe of the SF Bay Area
Mark Stone, State Assemblymember, Dist. 29
Bob Wieckowski, California State Senator, Senate District 10
Vicki Alexander, Board of Directors, Santa Clara Valley Open Space Authority
Blanca Alvarado, former Santa Clara County Supervisor
Dave Canepa, San Mateo County Supervisor
Helen Chapman, Vice Chair, Santa Clara Valley Open Space Authority
Cindy Chavez, Santa Clara County Supervisor
Rod Diridon, Sr., former Santa Clara County Supervisor
Susan Ellenberg, Santa Clara County Supervisor
Tony Estremera, Valley Water Board of Directors
Karen Holman, Board of Directors, Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District
Barbara Keegan, Valley Water Board of Directors
Zoe Kersteen-Tucker, President, Board of Directors, Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District
Otto Lee, Santa Clara County Supervisor
Linda LeZotte, Valley Water Board of Directors
Ana Ruiz, General Manager, Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District
Richard Santos, Valley Water Board of Directors
Brian Schmidt, Director, Mid-Peninsula Water District
Pete Siemens, Board of Directors, Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District
Joe Simitian, Santa Clara County Supervisor
John Varela, Valley Water Board of Directors
Ruben Abrica, Mayor of East Palo Alto
Emily Beach, Burlingame City Councilmember
David Cohen, San Jose City Councilmember
Drew Combs, Menlo Park City Councilmember
Rick DeGolia, Mayor of Atherton
Karina Dominguez, Milpitas City Councilmember
Javed Ellahie, Mayor of Monte Sereno
Helen Fisicaro, Mayor of Colma
Neysa Fligor, City Councilmember, Los Altos
Pam Foley, San Jose City Councilmember
Lisa Gauthier, Vice Mayor of East Palo Alto
Liz Gibbons, Campbell City Councilmember
Lisa Gillmor, Mayor of Santa Clara
Zach Hilton, Gilroy City Council Member
Rueben Holober, Millbrae City Councilmember
Davina Hurt, Belmont City Councilmember
Suds Jain, Santa Clara City Councilmember
Ellen Kamei, Mountain View City Councilmember
Gustav Larsson, Sunnyvale City Councilmember
Sam Liccardo, Mayor of San Jose
Yvonne Martinez Beltran, Morgan Hill City Councilmember
Matt Mahan, San Jose City Councilmember
Tom Mattusch, Commissioner, SMC Harbor District
Ray Mueller, Menlo Park City Councilmember
Kevin Park, Santa Clara City Councilmember
Anthony Phan, Milpitas City Councilmember
Diane Reddy, Vice Mayor of Redwood City
Rob Rennie, Mayor of Los Gatos
Nancy Reyering, President, SMC Harbor District
Lisa Ristow, Los Gatos Town Councilmember
Deborah Ruddock, Mayor of Half Moon Bay
Marico Sayoc, Los Gatos Town Council Member
Chris Shaw, Mayor of Woodside
Pat Showalter, Mountain View City Councilmember
Rene Spring, Morgan Hill City Councilmember
Tara Sreekrishnan, Trustee, SCC Board of Ed.
George Tyson, Mayor of Los Altos Hills
Hung Wei, Cupertino City Councilmember
Milan Balinton, African American Community Services Agency Executive Director
Fred Buzo, SPUR San José Director
Linda Hutchins-Knowles, E-Mobility & Advocacy Senior Manager at Acterra and Co-founder of Mothers Out Front Silicon Valley
Sibella Kraus, President, Sustainable Agriculture Education (SAGE)
Michele Lew, CEO, The Health Trust
Saul Ramos, Co-Executive Director, SOMOS Mayfair
Victor Vasquez, Co-Executive Director, SOMOS Mayfair
Steve Betando
Steve Blank
Cortney Brooks, Teacher
Colleen Cabot, First Unitarian Church of San José/South Bay Indigenous Solidarity
Roma Dawson
Trudy Ellerbeck
Patricia Ford
Gregory Kepferle
Victoria Kojola
Raeena Lari
Steve McHenry
Linda Marquez
Mary E. Martin
Debbie Mytels, local environmental leader
Brad and Judy O’Brien
Jane Packard
Karen Stephenson
Carolyn Straub
Rick Thurber
Bill Whitmer
Jim Wickett
George Wilkinson
Ciddy Wordell
Jasvir Zonobi

More Ways to Support Our Vision

Support Ongoing Advocacy

The Lennie Roberts Advocacy Fund was launched in honor of Lennie’s 50+ year legacy of local open space preservation as a Green Foothills Legislative Advocate. Ensure nature always has a champion with a one-time gift, a multi-year pledge, a stock gift, or a restricted bequest.

Leave a Legacy

A gift from your estate is the ultimate way you can support our mission and vision.


You are leaving the Green Foothills website to go to our Protect Coyote Valley website.

Continue on to PCV Website


You are leaving the Green Foothills website to go to our Protect Coyote Valley website.

Continue on to PCV Petition


You are leaving the Green Foothills website to go to the Protect Juristac website.

Continue on to Juristac Petition